March 11, 2001

Emily Climbs

Emily Climbs by L.M. Montgomery, frontispiece artwork from the 1928 George E. Harrap & Co. edition.

Emily Climbs is the second book in a trilogy of novels by L.M. Montgomery about a young writer named Emily Byrd Starr. The story was first published in 1925 and follows the novel Emily of New Moon. In Emily Climbs, Emily attends Shrewsbury High School under the conditions that she live with her difficult Aunt Ruth and that she stop writing fiction. Emily, who dreams of becoming a writer, perseveres despite these conditions by writing nonfiction portraits and by keeping a journal.

Emily Climbs is followed by the novel Emily's Quest.

Purchase and read the Emily of New Moon series:

Feb 2, 2022 Emily Climbs by L.M. Montgomery Emily of New Moon Series, Three Book Set by L.M. Montgomery

Created March 11, 2001. Re-posted online February 1, 2022. Last updated February 1, 2022.

Post a Comment