September 01, 1999

Anne of Windy Poplars

Anne of Windy Poplars, 1936

Anne of Windy Poplars (1936) is the fourth novel in the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery. After Anne graduates from Redmond, she returns to Prince Edward Island and takes a job as the principal of Summerside High School. She lives in a home called Windy Poplars with two elderly women, Aunt Kate and Aunt Chatty, and their housekeeper, Rebecca Dew. Anne faces several challenges in Summerside, including having to deal with the bitter vice principal Katherine Brooke and the clannish and unwelcoming Pringle family who run the town.

The plot of Anne of Windy Poplars falls between Anne of the Island (1915) and Anne’s House of Dreams (1917), but the novel was written roughly two decades later in 1936. L.M. Montgomery returned to Anne Shirley in the 1930s to tell the story of Anne's years in Summerside before her marriage to Gilbert. Compared to the other Anne novels, Anne of Windy Poplars is unusual in that much of the story is told through extracts of letters written by Anne Shirley to her fiancĂ© Gilbert Blythe.

Purchase and read Anne of Windy Poplars and the Anne of Green Gables series:

Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery Anne of Green Gables Book Set by L.M. Montgomery

Created September 1, 1999. Re-posted online March 4, 2021. Last updated March 4, 2021.

Post a Comment